tayjasaruta tayjasaruta tayjasaruta

TAYJASARUTA is an autonomous, non-profit organization independent of political and religious parties, of a social, political, organizational and technical nature. Recognized by the Ecuadorian Government through the Ministry of Social Welfare through ministerial agreement No. 0206 in 1979, it is reformed and approved on June 10, 2004 by the Council for the Development of Nationalities and Peoples of Ecuador (CODENPE).

Definition of TAYJASARUTA:

AT. TAYAK. The first men and women of the Kichwa people of Sarayaku.

Y. YUYAYTA. The knowledge, wisdom and spiritual strength to build harmony between the ayllus (famillias) and nature. (Sumak Kawsay = Good Living).

HA. JATACHIK. The one who stands up to build the path of cultural identity.

SA. SARAYAKU. Name of our town, which means River of corn (half-day town).

UK. RUNAKUNA. People with ethics and culture principles.

AT. TANDANAKUY. Strong Unity for the defense of the rights of indigenous peoples.

Legally, Tayjasaruta was recognized, in 1979, by the Ecuadorian Government, through the Ministry of Social Welfare, through ministerial agreement No. 0206. His legal status was reformed and approved on June 10, 2004 by the Council for the Development of Nationalities. and Peoples of Ecuador (CODENPE), through agreement No. 024.

In this sense, it is approved as the Original Kichwa People of Sarayaku, legally represented by the Governing Council of TAYJASARUTA, made up of Tayak Apu (President), Yanapak Apu (Vice President), Runa Kawsayta Purichik Kurakakuna (Directors of different commissions) and Kuraka and Likuati (Ancestral Authorities). Its main decision-making body is the Sarayaku runa tantanakui (Assembly of the Kichwa People of Sarayaku).

Governing Council dthe Kichwa Indigenous People of Sarayaku 2023 – 2026


During the Congress of the Kichwa Original People of Sarayaku held from April 21 to 23, 2023, important appointments were made of leaders and leaders who will lead the People of the noon, from 2023 to 2026. This new government council assumes the crucial responsibility of safeguarding the interests and well-being of the people, addressing a wide range of areas ranging from education and health to territorial management and communication.


The Governing Council of TAYJASARUTA:

President: Hernán Malaver

Vice President: Samai Gualinga

Education Director: Eloy Gualinga

Health Director: Marina Santi

Territory Director: Alex Dahua

Director of Foreign Affairs: Tulio Viteri

Director of Management and Community Economy: Alejo Gualinga

Director of Communication and Dissemination: Valerio Santi

Dir. Sabio Yachak: Rafael Gualinga

Transportation Director: Willan Gualinga

Director of Women and Family: Dora Gualinga

SAMARUTA Youth Director: Katty Gualinga

Traditional Authorities:

Accompanying the governing council, the traditional authorities of the 7 communities will play a fundamental role in decision-making and representing the people in various aspects. Among them are the Kurakas of Kalikali, Sarayakillo, Chontayaku, Maukallakta, Kushillu, Puma, and Shiwakucha, each contributing their wisdom and experience for the collective benefit.

Kuraka of Kalikali: Nelson Gualinga

Kuraka of Sarayakillo: Felix Santi

Chontayaku Kuraka: Hector Malaver

Kuraka of Maukallakta: Camilo Gualinga

Kuraka of Kushillu: Wilson Santi

Puma Kuraka: Wilbo Santi

Shiwakucha Kuraka: Carlos Aranda

Puyo Office: Francisco de Orellana and General Villamil Telephone +593 32 896 999  ©2022  Original Kichwa People of Sarayaku

contact us

If you wish to contact us please complete the following form. We will reply to your message shortly.


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account